Skip to content
September 27, 2016 / TheBosoms

A comic every day… (Not…)

Jump to:
Comics class week #1 
– Comics class week #2 (this post)
Comics class week #3
Comics class week #4
Comics class week #5

ralph-wiggum-learndingOkay, so I’ve started a new job AND I’m doing a speedy in depth comics class on Kadenze.
The assignment this week was to do a comic every day, but I almost couldn’t… It took me two weeks to come up with the 5 things to turn into an ‘analyzable’ strip. Meaning: 5 different ‘relationships’ – and there are 14 different ones to choose from (mostly along the lines of Scott McCloud) but I had a really difficult time figuring out wether something I came up with was ‘interdependent’ or ‘intersecting’. Of course I tried working the other way around: first choose a relation, then draw a comic based on that, but as I am sketching it just gets more and more and more and more complex… Which is weird because my most successful comic is a ONE panel comic!
I might be turning from a gag-maker into an academic if I don’t watch out.
In the words of Ralph Wiggum: “I am learnding!
I like how this whole thing forces me to produce new ideas quickly but I am sad to find out I’m very slow with drawing – so I’m using smartphone selfies as a template. Still, when I draw something from hand, no matter how sketchy or crappy, it actually looks much better than when I use pictures. I need to keep that in mind.

So here are my comics for this weeks class: they have their dominant ‘relational art’ aspect written at the bottom, which is were most good things are in life:

ji4-datinglove

ji3-coworkers

template

template

ji1-chaos

~

Jump to:
Comics class week #1
Comics class week #2
Comics class week #3
Comics class week #4
Comics class week #5

~

banner-selfbannerji4-datinglovebanner-jiro1d-slowdaydeedeebannerchildtrauma-web

Leave a Reply

