Skip to content
May 28, 2015 / TheBosoms

#263 + #264 new drawing techniques

So, I’ve been back from the USA for a week now and while I was there I had nothing with me to draw, so I used my iPad instead (the result of which became comic strip #261). With the iPad it’s nice I can publish the drawing immediately without having to scan it in, but my technique is really very bad, I have almost zero control over the lines and my fingers are too thick.
I made a new one on the iPad today, but I think these bad types of software and the bad drawing (and bad lettering) actually messes up the content of the message so the gag gets lost (made in Paintbook and Adobe Ideas).

20150528-220721-79641344.jpg

Two days ago I tried something else: direct digital drawing with my Wacom tablet in Photoshop on my iMac. The result is much better with more control over the tip (+ pressure control!) but I’ll have to do it very often in order to get a result that would even come close to my analogue drawing. In fact: I want to go back to doing live drawing with models again, it seems to be the ‘in’ thing to do in art again, besides lots of stuff with ceramics and fabrics – I was at the Amsterdam Art Fair today, can you tell…?

20150528-220805-79685348.jpg

This last one I made for a friend, to wish her a happy birthday on facebook.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Toverwolf / Jun 30 2015 09:06

    Heya, try an app called Sketches by Tayasui. I do all drawing with my finger and the lines are very fine.

Leave a Reply

