Skip to content
January 31, 2015 / TheBosoms

Reclaiming = Appropriation = Reclaiming

This is my latest piece of art.
I call it “Reclaiming = Appropriation = Reclaiming”
Ofcourse the title speaks adequately, no need for me to write an extensive piece about it. I’m sure you can do so yourselves.

20150131-111949.jpg

Note: I took this picture at the Gemeentemuseum Den Haag while visiting the Rothko exhibit. When I wandered off I found this large, silversprayed painting as part of the ‘Uneasiness and appropriation’ (‘Afstoten en toe-eigenen’) rooms. Which lead me to ponder on how appropriation in art should be considered a force of good and how appropriation in other professions can be itchy or simply wrong. But still… Maybe it’s not and people should just grow up.
So: hoorrah, it gave me the opportunity to make a pretentious photo and give it a pretentious title! This is the first time in almost fifteen years I’ve produced a pretentious thing. I’m so proud!

20150131-112518.jpg

Leave a Reply

