Skip to content
June 6, 2013 / TheBosoms

Grensoverschrijdend

(This post is in Dutch. It shows a comic I made for a Dutch zine about sexual harassment. The English translation for the comic follows below the post.)

letstalkaboutus13Deze week wederom geen Boezems cartoon maar hieronder wel een extra lange strip van mijn hand. Gemaakt ter gelegenheid van een eenmalig nieuw te verschijnen (maga)zine over seksueel grensoverschrijdend gedrag, getiteld “Let’s talk about us.”
Toen ik er van hoorde, dacht ik al meteen: “Ach nee, weer een gelegenheid waar iedereen natuurlijk alleen maar over blanke heteromannen gaat klagen.” Terwijl mijn eigen ervaring is dat ik eigenlijk last van IEDEREEN heb en heb gehad. Als biseksuele transman geniet ik de zeldzame voorkeur dat ik door werkelijk zo’n beetje élk denkbaar gender geïntimideerd ben. Heerlijk.
Ik gaf gehoor aan de oproep om materiaal voor het zine in te sturen omdat het me belangrijk leek ook ‘grensoverschrijdend’ te zijn in het tonen van welke genders zich allemaal manipulatief en zonder instemming kunnen manifesteren.
Hier alvast de wereldpremiére van mijn meest persoonlijke strip tot nu toe, maar in gedrukte vorm is ‘ie natuurlijk mooier. In het papieren exemplaar staan columns, verhalen en nog andere strips over seksuele intimidatie in allerlei verschillende vormen, van subtiel tot expliciet. Inmiddels is het zine voor 3,50 te koop bij o.a. Fort van Sjakoo.

zineseksoverschrijdend2013jiro-1

zineseksoverschrijdend2013jiro-2

TRANSLATION

Hey, I do read a newspaper from time to time…
(Newspaper: “Sexual assault, hetero, hetero, straight white man, straight white man, straight white man”)
And I really do listen to my friends
-“Straight white men, straight white men, straight white men.”
I know what’s like, I remember from when I was still a girl and I was approached in an annoying way by white straight men… from the very moment when my breasts started to grow.
(Man: “Can I help you? Can I help you? Can I help you?”)
I never had a relationship with a straight white man. I jumped immediately to, what I thought to be a higher level: bisexual men… and immediately into open relationships. I don’t know monogamy.
Yet even in poly relationships, strange things can happen.
-“If we don’t live together within 5 years, I’ll break up with you”
-“Isn’t that an itsy bitsy tiny little bit blackmailing?”
There are borders that can be crossed everywhere.
-“Well luckily I am not like other men… Wanna fuck?
-“But I don’t want to right now”
-“But I do”

As a bisexual woman I had the opportunity to escape into the lesbian scene
-“Uhm… Hello?”
Some of them behaved like straight white men…
-“HEY Hi FRESH MEAT!”
-“What type do you go for?”
-“Oh come on, let’s just kiss, it doesn’t mean anything!”
Others behaved more like borderline personality types… and there were actually quite a lot of those…
-“Of course I say things that hurt you sometimes, but that’s YOUR interpretation.”
-“You’re an angel… (2 seconds later) I HATE YOU!!!”
Now that I live as a transman, I can finally ‘enjoy’ all the lessons in the gay male scene…
-“Oh come on, nobody uses condoms anymore..! HIV is not a problem man!”
-“But..? But… WHAT?”
I still have to get used to all the unwritten rules, but I guess we all just keep on learning for the rest of our lives.
-“Why do you act as if you don’t want me to grab your crotch? That’s normal here!
If you walk into this bar you’re basically asking for it, right?”

~

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jiro / Jun 10 2013 11:24

    Deze stripaflevering is een experiment in ‘serieuzer’ zijn, maar veel mensen moeten er toch nog om lachen, hetgeen de toegankelijkheid dan wel weer ten goede komt.

  2. Ute / Jun 15 2013 05:00

    moin:) heerlijke strip, en zo herkenbaar. Als “vrouwelijke”bivrouw met mannelijke machoallure heb ik soortgelijke ervaringen gemaakt. Soms om te lachen, soms ook echt bitter. Dank je voor deze verfrissende kijk. Ute

    • Jiro / Jun 16 2013 22:17

      Dankjewel Ute! – nu word ik wel nieuwsgierig naar jouw ervaringen, daar kan ik dan weer een strip over maken :-]

Leave a Reply

